Hopalong Cassidy (1952-1954)

There are 57 replies in this Thread which has previously been viewed 47,201 times. The latest Post () was by Phantomstranger.

Participate now!

Don’t have an account yet? Register yourself now and be a part of our community!

• Glad you enjoy them. My favorites are

Trail Dust
    Borderland
    Rustler's Valley

and

The Eagle's Brood.

They are true period westerns -- no cars, no paved roads, no telephone polls, no mailboxes, no iron fences, no neon signs in the window, etc. The horses are spirited, the scenery is beautiful and the landscapes pristine. Not anymore, of course. Today many of those locations are housing developments.

Gabby Hayes is an asset, of course. I'm just beginning to realize what a natural actor and brilliant comedian he was.

I confess I do have a problem with William Boyd's outfit. His outfit is all wrong. It is never believable, it calls attention to itself, and it diminishes the films. At least for me it does.

Do you know of another 1930s western series that was as good as the Hopalong Cassidy films?

Richard

[CENTER]
    [/CENTER]

Edited 2 times, last by Richard--W ().

• I too liked "Rustler's Valley" a lot. In fact, I haven't watched a single one of the Thirties Hoppy films that I really disliked. When I was a kid back in the Forties and Fifties, I'm sure I saw a lot of these movies, either at Saturday matinees or on TV. But's that been so long ago and this 73-year-old memory sure ain't what it used to be so I had forgotten most of those I've been watching.

I also really enjoy old Gabby's performances. He's a card. I even like the guy that plays Lucky in most of the films. Gabby also played in many Roy Rogers and Duke movies back then.

I have no complaints about Hoppy's black clothes. In fact, they make a nice contrast against Topper's white coat. What is weird is when he comes on undercover dressed like some dude.