Honeymoon in Monument Valley, Utah

There are 55 replies in this Thread which has previously been viewed 27,270 times. The latest Post () was by Dooley.

Participate now!

Don’t have an account yet? Register yourself now and be a part of our community!

• Dooley, that black and white picture is amazing. Your photos are great. And YES, we do want to see more. You can never get enough of the beauty that is Monument Valley.

Mark

"I couldn't go to sleep at night if the director didn't call 'cut'. "

• Hi guys,
    here's another B&W shot.
    Bit of info, I watched the John Ford / Monument Valley docu on the Fort Apache Blu ray before my wedding/honeymoon and was intrigued about the technique they used to get the sky and clouds so dramatic in the film.
    I've 'borrowed' this nugget of info to get the skies in my BW pics to hopefully have a vintage John Ford feel!

"Pour yourself some backbone and shut up!"

• :wink_smile:

Great! But you are a professional?

I'm an amateur and I appreciate the purity of your technique ...

Unconditional's Maureen O'Hara !
    French-English translation: poor !!!
    :blush:

• Dooley,
    You may of mentioned this, where did you stay while at Monument Valley?

Chester :newyear:

Hi Chester,
    We stayed at The View Hotel, aptly named, Monument Valley. All the rooms overlook 'The Mittens' and the sunrise shots were taken from our balcony.
    Great base to set out and explore too; we did a huge amount of driving around and discovered some amazing places.
    Truly a fantastic trip! I've been back a week and am missing being there so much.

Regards,

Peter

Edited 2 times, last by Dooley ().

• :wink_smile:

Great! But you are a professional?

I'm an amateur and I appreciate the purity of your technique ...

Hi Romy,
    Thanks for the compliment. No, not a professional at all. I'm an art director by trade so I guess some of it rubs off on my photography!
    ATB
    Peter

• Hi Chester,